trip advisor certificate of excellence 2016 Trip Advisor

I came to Newport to go to a hotel.
It was not a hotel. Not at all.
It was your place. I came home.”

 

“Superb B&B right in the heart of Newport”

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the truro room which has a partial view of the Newport bridge at night - really pretty. The room was just as pictured on the website and impeccably clean. Staff is wonderful and very welcoming. You are in for a treat if you choose Hilltop!!

“Wonderful Weekend”

 Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Can't say enough about this place. Accommodated my gluten free partner with GF baked French toast in the AM. Beautiful room (Kay) with fireplace, jacuzzi, rain shower and balcony on which we soaked up the first spring sun in comfy terry cloth robes. Easy walking to town. Superb parking and a straight shot to mansions. I've stayed in Newport at different places many times in the last but will only be coming to Hilltop in the future.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Reviewed March 24, 2015

My husband and I choose the Hilltop Inn from the many B&Bs in Newport for a weekend getaway and we could not have been happier. Liz achieved the perfect balance of friendly and accommodating without being overbearing or prescriptive. She offered excellent suggestions for meals and activities when asked. Breakfast was very relaxed and delicious. The attention to detail and the welcoming nature of the set up was perfect. We stayed in the Kay room, which was beautifully and thoughtfully appointed. The separate jet tub and shower room with a rain shower was amazing. Whenever our next trip to Newport is planned, we definitely know where we are staying!

“Impeccable--Old World Charm with Modern Ammenities”

Reviewed March 20, 2015

We had a wonderful one night stay at the Hilltop Inn (wish it were longer). The innkeeper Liz is so friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and impeccably clean. The beds are very comfortable and the fireplaces just add to the beauty of the rooms. The bathrooms are so luxurious with whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs and separate rain head showers.

 

Breakfast was delicious and made to order, served in a beautiful sunroom.

 

The common areas are welcoming and also beautifully decorated. The whole inn has a wonderful serene feeling to it, very relaxing, cozy and peaceful yet 5 mins from the hustle and bustle of the waterfront.

 

We will definitely be back soon!!

 

“Romantic getaway”

Reviewed March 17, 2015

Despite rainy weather, our trip to Newport was enjoyable! The staff welcomed us with a bottle of champagne for our anniversary! Liz was very helpful with suggestions of what to see and where to eat. Our room had a gas fireplace to warm us up after wandering outside in the cold rain! Very comfortable room and awesome bathroom with Jacuzzi tub!

“Absolutley Spoiled”

 Reviewed March 10, 2015

We were the only guests and had the house to ourselves. Liz gave us great flexibility and still put out a huge breakfast spread just for us. The house and room were beautiful. Would come back next weekend if I could!

“Fantastic stay!”

Reviewed February 23, 2015

We checked in on a very chilly night in Newport to a cozy and warm house! We were greeted immediately and shown to our room. We stayed in the Kay room. It was beautifully decorated, the bed was super comfortable with super sot linens and the bathroom was immaculate. The private balcony that is attached to the room was not usable that night or the next day, only due to the negative temperatures! Liz cooked us a wonderful breakfast complete with little fruit parfaits with fresh whipped cream. The attention to detail can be seen throughout your stay, they really want you to pamper yourself while you stay in Newport. We will definitely return and recommend the Hilltop Inn to all of our friends who travel there often!

 

 

“Awesome from Check-In to Check-Out!”

Reviewed February 22, 2015

All I can say is wow! We stayed two nights, and getting out of work on Friday caused us to be late for check-in. No worries-Liz the Innkeeper-told us, just give a call when you are close. She made us feel immediately at home, and the Inn is so cozy and inviting, with handsome hardwood throughout softened by over-stuffed chairs and couches in the common areas. We stayed in the Murray Room, which had it's own bathroom (as all of the rooms do) as well as a gas fireplace that provided plenty of romance and ambiance. Breakfast was delicious and was served between 8:30 and 10 AM, cooked to order with plenty of choices. The personal touches were thoughtful and spot-on-my wife and I had a couple of bottles of wine in our room, and when we returned from a day of enjoying everything Newport has to offer, we found two wine glasses for us to use!  We can't wait to get back to Newport and the Hilltop Inn-Thanks so much, Liz!

“Beautiful Bed and Breakfast & Very Relaxing”

 Reviewed February 12, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night this past weekend (Feb 2015) for our anniversary. Liz was amazing throughout the entire process, from booking to check out and made us feel very welcomed and at home. She even surprised us with a thoughtful treat for our anniversary! The house was beautiful, very well maintained and the rooms were extremely clean and cozy. Location was great, as its easy to walk to downtown and restaurants. A variety of snacks were always available which added a nice touch. Liz was also very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. Breakfast was fantastic and there was a huge variety to choose from. Prior to our arrival, we received an email asking if we needed anything, etc, and I told Liz of my dietary restrictions. She came up with a delicious alternative breakfast option for me, which was much appreciated. We cannot wait to stay here again! Thank you Liz and staff for everything! We got the relaxing weekend away we were looking for!

“Best of Newport”

Reviewed January 12, 2015

Hilltop Inn is both posh and homelike. Innkeeper Liz makes one feel right at home with delicious afternoon snacks and fabulous breakfasts. The bathrooms, bed linens, and robes are of the highest quality and Martha keeps the entire inn spotless and extremely neat. We stay here often and look forward to our next visit.

 

“A lovely Inn”

Reviewed September 23, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying three nights at the HIlltop Inn in September. Liz, the owner, could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Her home is impeccably maintained - a wonderful balance of old world charm with modern conveniences ( a tv in the bathroom). Our room was cozy and spotless and our bathroom was bright and spacious. Liz is very helpful with not only providing information and recommendations in regards to sight seeing and dining, but she kindly offers to make reservations - and did this for us a couple of times.

 

Her afternoon treats that awaited us each day were always yummy and the breakfast was consistently delicious.

 

Liz provides a generous buffet of hot and cold options, a variety of teas and coffees and always homemade breads and fresh fruits. We spent our days meandering around Newport - its downtown and its famous mansions. But we quickly came to enjoy returning "home" to the Hilltop Inn. We highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a charming B & B in Newport.

 

“Best of the Newport Inns- Hilltop Inn in Newport, R.I.”

Reviewed September 23, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend in Newport at the lovely old Hilltop Inn. The innkeeper began helping us with recommendations before we arrived, and we were delighted with the results. The inn is well located between the wharf area of boats, shops, and historic buildings, and the Bellevue of mansions and more historic buildings and shops, and is walking distance to both Cliff Walk and the harbor. The service and attention to detail was excellent, gracious and personal.

 

“Great place to stay”

Reviewed August 28, 2014

We loved the room, the people and the location. Will definitely come back next time we’re in Newport. The room was beautiful with a comfortable kings size bed and a huge bathroom. Everything was clean and neat in and out of the room. The people were really nice. Lots of free food and snacks. My girlfriend forgot her sunglasses at the hotel. Liz was nice enough to ship it back to her and would not except money for postage.

 

 

“Our stay at the Hilltop Inn”

Reviewed August 15, 2014

Visiting Newport and staying at The Hilltop Inn was perfect! We were greeted by Liz, the innkeeper, who went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. She brought us champaign and a cheese platter, which we enjoyed on our own deck; such a relaxing way to begin a vacation.

 

“Awesome place, awesome keeper”

Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Newport and is in a great location in walking distance to everything. Liz is a great help and wonderful inn keeper. It is quiet and clean and pristine. I highly recommend this as a place to stay in Newport, RI!

“Great B&B”

Reviewed August 12, 2014

What a wonderful place. Located right across from the Viking Hotel where I was attending a conference. Liz, the Innkeeper was great. We were upgraded to a bigger room with a big deck. I highly recommend the Hilltop Inn.

 

“Excellent Bed & Breakfast in beautiful Newport”

Reviewed August 11, 2014

friendly, clean and pleasant. Great location. Breakfast was delicious. The bed and breakfast is within walking distance of nearby restaurants and the water. I stayed in the Stewart room which was beautiful and had an amazing renovated bathroom. I can't wait to go back!

“A cut above”

Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was our second stay at Hilltop Inn - and we look forward to many more. We visit Newport annually and Hilltop Inn has been the best inn experience we've had there. The rooms are comfortable and spotless, the ambience, amenities and location are perfect. It's a short walk to Newport center, but far enough away from the busy summer car and foot traffic so that it's quiet and relaxing. Innkeeper Liz gave us a warm welcome, went above and beyond to make us feel at home, and was very helpful both prior to and during our visit. We'll be back!

 

“Best Weekend Ever!”

 Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a wedding in Newport and most of the guests stayed at the Viking or Vanderbilt Grace. We took all five rooms at The Hilltop Inn for ourselves, and some family and friends. It was the best decision! Besides the perfect location and lovely breakfast room, the Inn is beautiful with wonderful, homey, rooms and fabulously updated bathrooms. Two of the rooms, including our suite, had terraces as well.

 

What makes the place real special is the innkeeper, Liz, who not only makes you feel so welcome, but provides exquisite breakfasts, tasty snacks, and looks out for all the little things. She also ranks as the greatest "concierge" having flawlessly arranged for trolleys and vans for rehearsal and wedding transport, and providing perfect tips for food and drinks.

 

Liz and the hilltop are the best in Newport!

“Hilltop Inn exceeded our expectations”

Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is an upscale experience from the decor to the linens and the bathrooms. The fresh baked chocolate chip cookies were a nice touch. Liz, the innkeeper, made us feel totally at home. We plan to stay here often.

“Wonderful Stay!”

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Room was wonderful with comfortable beds and a beautiful bathroom. We had a little deck off of our room which was a pleasant surprise. Service couldn't have been better! We had to leave a little early, but the innkeeper couldn't have been more accommodating and generous with trying to get us breakfast. Definitely will stay there again!

“Local Gem”

Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a find! Hilltop is an exceptional experience in Newport. My room was perfect and the oversized marble bath with modern amenities was wonderful. I especially enjoyed the Breakfast which included the best homemade Banana bread I have ever had and locally roasted coffee with cream from a local dairy. Yum!

“Fantastic Find”

Reviewed July 10, 2014

First time staying in a B&B all I can say is amazing. Classic Inn in a great location. Rooms were clean,comfortable & very well done. Breakfast & service - outstanding! Already planning our next stay. Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you choose - they are all beautiful. Bathrooms are awesome - jacuzzi...

 

“Had a great stay!”

Reviewed June 27, 2014

Had to come to Newport for a long weekend for work. Had a great stay at the Hilltop. The place is in a great location, love the atmosphere, and the staff is great!

We always had great coffee every morning & terrific breakfast! Will not hesitate to come back for my next trip.

 

 

“Charming spot in beautiful Newport!”

Reviewed June 19, 2014

First of all, what a lovely building, landscaping and appointments within the Inn. The rooms were very spacious and THE BATHROOMS!!!! Wonderful!! You could stay there all day.

 

The staff was accommodating and warm. We had breakfast there - the banana bread was delicious and served in such an inviting manner. What a lovely get-away spot.

 

Convenient to the sites in and around Newport. You would be missing a wonderful experience if you didn't stay here.

 

 

“Can't wait to go back !!!!”

Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hilltop inn in Newport is beauitful . The location is ideal we walked to the Marina . Liz couldn't do enough for us. She made great suggestion for Dining and made all our reservations and mapped it all out for us so we didn't have to think just enjoy!! Highly recommend the Hilltop Inn cant say enough !!! JUST PERFECT !! Planning our trip back already !!

 

“Wonderful new discovery”

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Congratulations to Liz and her staff for making our first visit to the Hilltop Inn such a great experience. The room was lovely, especially the balcony area! Liz was so helpful in recommending restaurants, serving us a welcome afternoon snack, and finding the Lighthouse Tour from Jamestown for us. (That was a great way to end our weekend).

We were fascinated with the architecture of the house, ...loved the elegant bathroom, delicious breakfast, and the quiet intimacy of the Inn. The location was terrific for us. We'll be back!

“Beautiful and quaint”

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hilltop Inn in Newport is a beautiful inn. The rooms are spacious and inviting with wonderful bathrooms. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. The inn has a gym but more so it is conveniently located with walking distance around Newport. Highly recommended!

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Reviewed November 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at The Hilltop Inn . Liz could not have been more helpful and concerned of any needs we may have. The Inn is located within easy walking distance to downtown and many restaurants. The room was beautiful and kept so very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. Liz made a fantastic breakfast each morning and was full of area information. I would highly recommend The Hilltop Inn to everyone.

“The Perfect Place for Our Perfect Wedding”

Reviewed November 24, 2014

Thanks to Innkeeper Liz, our wedding was beautiful and so much more thank we expected. The Hilltop Inn is wonderful in both appearance, accommodation and spectacular service. The food was the best. When I called Liz about having a small wedding there, she was more than happy to help. She was extremely good at communicating and staying in touch throughout the process. We do not live in RI so we had to have a lot of faith in her. To our surprise she was very trustworthy and wowed us by going above and beyond what we were asking for a very affordable and fair price. The flowers were EXACTLY what we asked for. The cake was delicious and beautiful. She took the time to take some marvelous pictures of our ceremony. Another good perk is the county clerks office is a short 8 minute walk away. The bed was our favorite accommodation, along with the private patio to our room, (the Kay room). The bathroom was very large with a huge shower and nice sized Jacuzzi tub. The room was very clean and was maintained that way each day we were there. There was champagne on ice and glasses waiting for us in our room waiting on us. The room had a decently sized mini fridge and a lovely gas fireplace for those romantic evenings. The room is ample sized. The rest of the house is very cozy and eloquent with some very nice original woodwork and great public space. The dining room is spectacular with its surround windows letting the wonderful morning light in to adorn the morning breakfast. Speaking of the food, very fresh, local products and excellent coffee, fresh squeezed juices and a variety of teas. We loved this place and Liz's welcoming and accommodating style. We couldn't have asked for a better place to have our beautiful wedding.

 

“It's the little things....................”

Reviewed November 9, 2014

We stayed at Hilltop for 2 nights. What a wonderful place and Liz was the best. One thing that does concern me when staying in an older home is noise. We did not experience any problem with noise. Liz told us that when the home was remodeled, extra insulation was put in the walls.

 

Breakfast each morning was wonderful. Plenty of food to start your day. Liz gave wonderful advice on things to do. One thing she recommended was to head to Castle Hill Inn to watch the sunset. Luckily the skies cleared up our last night, so we could do just that. Definitely a great spot to watch the sunset.

 

We stayed in the Murray room. It may be the smallest in the Inn, but I wouldn't call it small. Plenty of room for two. And what a lovely (and large) bathroom. I wish my bathroom at home was that large. The bed was very comfy.

 

It's the little things that really put Hilltop Inn over the top. Like the bottles of water in our room each day, the afternoon & evening snacks, the Keurig in the breakfast room with to-go cups, so you could get coffee anytime. (Very important to coffee drinkers like my husband.) And the fact that after we checked out on the last day, Liz allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot, since we weren't heading out of town yet. She also allowed us to keep the keys, just in case we needed to use the restroom before we headed out of town in the afternoon. I'm not sure if she always does this, or did it possibly because our room wasn't booked for that night, but I was very grateful for it.

 

My one suggestion if you stay here, is make sure you know how the fireplace works. We thought we had turned it up and woke up freezing in the morning. We figured it out real quick after that. This is no reflection on the Inn or Liz, just an FYI.

 

“Amazing!”

Reviewed November 6, 2014

My family and I went to Newport for two nights and stayed at the Hilltop Inn. Liz was absolutely amazing and so incredibly helpful. She made breakfast every morning! And even left us out treats when we would come home. She told us where to eat (and more importantly, where not to go!). If you're in Newport, stay here!! Perfect location and amazing stay! Thank you Liz!!!!!

 

 

“Fantastic !”

Reviewed November 5, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Hilltop Inn. Liz was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and places to visit. She was very accommodating asking always if there was anything else she could do for us. The Inn was beautiful! Large room with a huge bathroom! Very nice. Looking forward to staying there again. Very convenient location. Can walk to shops and restaurants. Beautiful place to stay !

“Wonderful!”

Reviewed October 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hilltop Inn for our anniversary. Location, location, location. Walking distance to all of historic Newport. The inn is charming, decorated to really give a guest a taste of New England. Working fireplaces, jacuzzi, fresh linens...the innkeeper even had a bottle of red bubbly waiting for us in our room upon arrival. The innkeeper was extremely accommodating to us regarding my husband's gluten allergy. Beforr we arrived they provided us recommendations of gluten-free restaurants in the area. At night treats were left on the dining room table and she accommodated my husband by being gluten-free. We stayed in the Murray room which had a very large bathroom and a lovely decor. We wanted to thank the end again for making anniversary weekend special and we look forward to coming back to Newport soon.

 

“Super experience”

Reviewed October 16, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful experience. Liz was very helpful with directions, restaurants, and sites to see. The Inn was just beautiful and the accommodations were outstanding. Thanks for a fabulous get away weekend!

Room Tip: The Bellevue suite was to die for.

See more room tips

 

“Excellent place for a special occasion!”

Reviewed October 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hilltop Inn to celebrate our first anniversary. I must say, the Inn was absolutely gorgeous, we'll maintained and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Kay room and it was wonderful. There was a private deck connected to the room. The bathroom was stunning, complete with a large jacuzzi tub and huge glass shower with an overhead rainfall option. The innkeeper, Liz, was awesome. She was quick to answer all the questions I had via email before we arrived and made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. She offered to help us with dinner reservations and suggested things to do around the city. The location of the Inn is pretty decent, as well. It's a six minute walk to the downtown area of Newport. We were able to just leave the car in the inn's lot and walk everywhere we wanted to go. Liz also let us leave the car there after we checked out, so we could go enjoy the city a little more before we left. Our experience at Hilltop Inn was excellent. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, I would highly recommend Hilltop Inn.

 

“A lovely Inn”

Reviewed October 13, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying three nights at the HIlltop Inn in September. Liz, the owner, could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Her home is impeccably maintained - a wonderful balance of old world charm with modern conveniences ( a tv in the bathroom). Our room was cozy and spotless and our bathroom was bright and spacious. Liz is very helpful with not only providing information and recommendations in regards to sight seeing and dining, but she kindly offers to make reservations - and did this for us a couple of times.

Her afternoon treats that awaited us each day were always yummy and the breakfast was consistently delicious.

Liz provides a generous buffet of hot and cold options, a variety of teas and coffees and always homemade breads and fresh fruits. We spent our days meandering around Newport - its downtown and its famous mansions. But we quickly came to enjoy returning "home" to the Hilltop Inn. We highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a charming B & B in Newport.

 

 

“Best of the Newport Inns- Hilltop Inn in Newport, R.I.”

Reviewed September 23, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend in Newport at the lovely old Hilltop Inn. The innkeeper began helping us with recommendations before we arrived, and we were delighted with the results. The inn is well located between the wharf area of boats, shops, and historic buildings, and the Bellevue of mansions and more historic buildings and shops, and is walking distance to both Cliff Walk and the harbor. The service and attention to detail was excellent, gracious and personal.

 

“Great place to stay”

Reviewed August 28, 2014

We loved the room, the people and the location. Will definitely come back next time we’re in Newport. The room was beautiful with a comfortable kings size bed and a huge bathroom. Everything was clean and neat in and out of the room. The people were really nice. Lots of free food and snacks. My girlfriend forgot her sunglasses at the hotel. Liz was nice enough to ship it back to her and would not except money for postage.

 

 

Amenities